Weekend Getaway to Santa Barbara

Last weekend the hubby and I headed down the coast to spend the weekend in beautiful Santa Barbara. On the way, we realized that it had been quite some time since we last visited…try three years. We were there in 2011 to see my sister graduate from UCSB and before that it was in 2010 for our wedding! Crazy how much time flies. We stayed with my friend Eva who I met my senior year in college. Eva and I had the pleasure of being roommates in a triple bedroom in a house of 10 girls on oceanside DP. It was just what you would imagine… CRAZY. NUTS. TOO MANY GIRLS… but an absolute blast and we certainly have some very good stories! We’ve remained friends ever since! 

We started the weekend off with some hiking at Rattlesnake Canyon and a visit to Knapp’s Castle. Emma was in doggie heaven! That white schnauzer got so dirty and loved every minute of it! The weather was perfect and the views even better! Image

One of the things I love about Santa Barbara is that there is so much stuff to do! You can spend your morning hiking in the mountains and next you’re hanging out at the beach with friends or strolling State St. 

After our hike we cleaned up and headed downtown for some wine tasting! The wine scene downtown is getting very popular. Back in the day…there weren’t very many tasting rooms, but now there are a ton. We first stopped at an old time favorite Kalyra. It’s awesome that they have a tasting room downtown, even though I love going up to Santa Ynez. Next was a new place (for us) called Pali. Very modern and hip! Emma enjoyed her first strawberries and making friends with everyone! Last on our list was A V A which was just across the street! Best part of our whole outing (aside from the company and wine) was that we could bring Emma everywhere! I forgot how dog friendly Santa Barbara is! I think this collection of pictures really shows how much fun we were having!
Image

Emma was the life of the party everywhere we went! People loved her and she was so well behaved! 

Like I said before, the weather was perfect over the weekend; actually a little warm for March with highs in the 70s-80s. That being said we clearly HAD to go to the beach! Because I mean when this is in your “backyard” why not go?! I sure have missed this view and being able to take walks along the beach any time I want. There is also something so calming about being near the water…I felt so refreshed after spending a few hours under the sun and by the sea.Image

I really loved living so close to the ocean and being able to soak up it’s beauty while I lived there. 

During our visit we also had to make a trip to campus. I feel beyond lucky to have gone to UCSB! It’s one of the most beautiful college campuses I have ever seen and has so much for students to do (both academically and socially). That was the best four years of my life! I am so thankful for the opportunity to have gone to such a great school and for meeting so many amazing and wonderful people! Proud Gaucho for life! Cait and I loved taking pictures in front of our old residence hall San Miguel too. I seriously lucked out in getting an awesome roommate freshman year! She is one of my best friends and I love her dearly! Sure going to miss her when she moves to NYC in a few short weeks! Thanks Cait for being such a wonderful friend. I’m so lucky to have you in my life!

Image

UCSB and Santa Barbara hold a very special place in my heart. My parents went to school there so growing up we used to vacation in Santa Barbara. I was very fortunate to go to school there along with my sister who followed in my footsteps. We are an entire family of Gauchos and couldn’t be more proud! I met some of my best friends there, people who have had a large impact on my life. Santa Barbara is also where I met my best friend, love of my life, my husband Chris McConnell. In October 2010 we got married in a park across from the ocean and it was magical. I truly love that city and it will always have a special place in my heart!

Last on our “things to do” was to take a quick stroll down DP and check out that gorgeous ocean view we all miss! I seriously can’t believe that was literally my backyard my senior year! Made sure to stop at 6594 DP where some of my best girlfriends (Nisha, Jen, Vanessa and Elli) lived and my old place at 6573. Everything looks the same haha and it definitely brought back lots of memories. Chris wanted to make sure our names were still on the wall in The Study Hall. Good news, they were! Not sure if UCSB students still do the 50 Club but apparently the c/o 2006 had one of the largest numbers of participants! Of course they did haha! We spent many a day/nights our senior year hanging out at The Study Hall. Heck I think my hubby even had his mom convinced for awhile that The Study Hall  was actually a place where he was “studying” haha.

Last but not least, lunch at FREEBIRDS! Man those nachos tasted like heaven on earth! So glad  they tasted just like how I remember…yum yum yum.  Image

We really had an awesome weekend and were so sad to leave. Thanks for a great weekend girls! Until next time Santa Barbara! We LOVE you and will be back soon!

2 thoughts on “Weekend Getaway to Santa Barbara

  1. Pingback: HAPPY ST. PATRICK’S DAY! | Sweet for Certain

Leave a Reply

