Mindfulness Study Group

I recently signed up for a 6-week Mindfulness Study Group put on by the fabulous Cassie Schindler. Cassie is an MBSR instructor and meditation coach. I’ve talked about Cassie before on my blog and think she is an incredibly stunning and motivational individual. You can read about a retreat I attended back in December here and if you want to learn more about Cassie visit her website.

Any time I get an email about a workshop, retreat, or class Cassie is offering I try my best to take it! I’ve had to miss out on a few opportunities, so when this one came up I told myself I’m not missing it! So far the class is going really well. The class is designed for people interested in an exploration of mindfulness and for people who have already completed her 8-week MBSR course. Since I’ve already completed her course I’m using this study group as more of a refresher, to go a bit deeper into the understanding of mindfulness/incorporating it into my life, and recommitting to my practice.

During each session we do a practice meditation and then either have some sort of activity/discussion/or review of our workbook A Mindfulness-Based Stress Reduction. What I really love about this group is that we are a group. We’ve all come together for a particular reason and get to share in what I think is a very unique experience. It’s funny because the more classes/workshops/retreats I attend, the more familiar faces I see. In this study group I recognized two ladies that were at the My Mindful Brain retreat in December and one gentleman that was in my 8-week MBSR course! It’s so wonderful to see familiar faces and share this experience together. Another familiar face and someone who I know really well is my mom! She is new to MBSR and I’m excited to be in class with her.

This year, I am really trying to work on my meditation practice and live a more mindful life! You can read about that being one of my resolutions for 2015 here if you want. This class is a perfect way for me to get back into my meditation groove. Also, I really just love Cassie. Meeting and learning from her has been one of the greatest things that has happened to me. I am so very grateful to have her in my life and to have discovered the wonderful world of meditation.

In closing, I want to share two images that I just love and think are perfect for meditation and mindfulness.

dfd0f9f31dd6d222d73db8ac4437bc36           cee2495e65ced38215b862ea5b2d76ae

Meditation and especially mindfulness is all about occupying the present moment. In order to really see what is happening in the present moment, we have to stop and look at the present moment. It can be really hard to do this, but the present moment is NOW. We have to take the time to be present.

The other image is a beautiful quote by Eckhart Tolle. Since it’s so small, here it is: “Look at a tree, a flower, a plant. Let your awareness rest upon it. How still they are, how deeply rooted in Being. Allow nature to teach you stillness.” Now isn’t that just wonderful?! Until next time! ❤

Leave a Reply

