Today We Remember…

Today we remember and honor those that lost their lives 14 years ago. Last October I visit my college bestie and a few of our other college girlfriends in New York. You can read all about my trip here. One of the many things we did during out trip, was visit the WTC: 9/11 Memorial. I remember being so moved by the memorial and found it to be truly beautiful. I remember feeling a huge sense of peace and calmness. I remember walking in silence, taking it all in and reflecting on what happened on September 11, 2001…

My first visit to New York was with my family during the summer of 2004. It was a fun filled trip with lost of sight seeing, good food, and Broadway shows! During our trip we also visited Ground Zero. If I remember it correctly, it was still pretty much rubble and not much construction had taken place. It was a very sombering experience and we left still feeling pained by what happened only three years prior.

It was wonderful to not only come back to New York 10 years later to visit my college bestie, but to visit the newly constructed WTC: 9/11 Memorial. The place looked drastically different than my first visit in 2004 and I was blown away. The new Freedom Tower and water feature is absolutely breathtaking. You can’t help but feel moved while you are there. I still can’t even begin to imagine what it was like on that day in 2001…

During our visit at the memorial I remember my heart was heavy, but I also felt so much love, peace and a sense of unitedness if that makes sense. Walking around you could see all types of people of all ages, from possibly all over the country/world and from so many different backgrounds. We were all there paying tribute and reflecting on what happened on 9/11.

It’s just amazing the amount of work and detail that went into making such a stunningly beautiful memorial. If you have never visited NYC or the WTC: 9/11 Memorial, I highly recommend it. You will not be disappointed. 

I truly feel honored to have visited the WTC: 9/11 Memorial Site twice now. It’s stunning, peaceful, breathtaking and a wonderful way to honor all those who lost their lives and all those affected by such a tragedy. Today I am reflecting on that and sending lots of love to NYC and to everyone all around! We will never forget! 🇺🇸💙❤️🇺🇸

Happy Friday everyone! Hope you have a wonderful weekend.

XoXo

P.S. This video is so precious and just made my heart melt. I was tearing up/crying at my desk.

Leave a Reply

