Mindful U

Last Friday, I had the pleasure of attending another one of Cassie’s wonderful seminars/retreat called Mindful U. The retreat took place at the Stillpath Retreat Center in Woodside, CA.ย The last time I was at Stillpath was in 2014 for Cassie’s Your Mindful Brain workshop. You can read about that retreat here.

Stillpath is one of the most beautiful places. Just being among the redwoods already makes you feel relaxed. It was gorgeous and so clear out. We had great views of all the tress and the stunning property. I’m already looking forward to the next time I get to visit. Someday I hope to stay on the property and use the saline pool! These pictures don’t do this place justice, but you get an idea.

Mindful Uย is a new course/series that Cassie has developed. It is a highly interactive program that “delivers the what, why and how of mindfulness.” There are 6 progressive modules that are intended to help cultivate awareness in the hopes of achieving measurable improvements in all aspects of one’s life. The 6 modules include:

  1. Wake Up & Breathe
  2. Get in Your Body
  3. Come to Your Senses
  4. Board the Brain Train
  5. Sit with it All, and
  6. Plug in and Go!

Cassie made these beautiful U-Maps that were designated for each module. They were full of pictures, poetry, mini activities and plenty of space for us to take notes and doodle. I was prepared with my notebook to take a bunch of furious notes (haveย to soak up all of Cassies’ wisdom!), but her U-Maps were so much more fun. I felt like I could really engage in what Cassie was sharing for each module and be more creative in my “note-taking” since I wasn’t just using a regular notebook.

Throughout the day we also did some light mindful movement (gentle stretching) and had sessions that had usย toggling between activity and rest. We did a siting mediation, body scan, mindful walk as well as other activities related to the modules.ย A delicious lunch was provided by Cassie’s own daughter Glo and her partner Sonya. They have a vegan catering company called the V-List and also do consulting for people interested in a vegan lifestyle. The meal they made for us was so yummy andย I know was made with lots of love. One item we had was a creamy broccoli soup…leave it to the V-List to make a creamy soup that doesn’t use milk and is totally vegan! Check them out here. For a snack we had rosemary chocolate chip cookies…so good!

The below statue is located in the Great Roomย and I just had to take a picture. Isn’t it gorgeous?! I was admiring how perfectly it fit with the painting on the wall and the other women looking at it mentioned that that was done on purpose. Turns out she actually lives on the property (lucky her) and said that all of the pieces at Stillpath have beenย placed very intentional. Hehe of course they have! So cool.

The 15th century Tahi bronze statues is of Quan Yin, the Goddess of Compassion and Mercy. She embodies compassionate kindness. According to the statue description, “as the Bodhisattva of Compassion, she hears the cries of all human beings. Often shown pouring a stream of healing water, the “Water of Like” from a small vase. With this water all living things are blessed with physical and spiritual peace. She holds a sheaf (bowl) of ripe rice seed as a metaphor for fertility and sustenance. The dragon, an ancient symbol for high spirituality, wisdom, strength, and divine powers of transformation, is a common motif found with Quan Yin.” WOW. So power, beautiful and perfect for the space.

I’m so glad that I was able to attend Mindful U. Cassie is so full of wisdom, kindness and I love being able to spend the day with her. I saw some familiar faces and met so many other great people. Can’t wait for the next retreat or seminar Cassie offers…you know I’ll be there!

Here are a few other quotes/images that I really love.

ย ย 

Meditation has done absolute wonders for me. I really do feel that these quotes hold true for me. Mindfulness IS a dance of happiness and I’m so happy to be doing this dance. Something has been missing from my life and it is meditation. I am so incredible happy and eternally grateful that I met Cassie back in 2012. I have said it before and I will say it again, I feel like Cassieย has really “saved me”. It is because of her that Iย discovered the wonderful world of meditation and have made it a part of my life. I can’t thank you enough Cassie!

Cassie will be offering another Mindful U seminar in February 2016. Check it out and join us!

XoXo

P.S. Hope you all are having a great week so far! Looking forward to having the day off from work tomorrow for Veteran’s Day.

One thought on “Mindful U

  1. Pingback: Mindful U 2.0 | Sweet for Certain

Leave a Reply

