Weekend Update: Movies

Happy Monday everyone! Hope you all had a great weekend are are ready for another work week. I sure could use another day (or two), but alas it’s back to work.

This weekend ended up being all about MOVIES!!! Friday night we went and saw  The Revenant.

MV5BMjU4NDExNDM1NF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwMDIyMTgxNzE@._V1_SX214_AL_

Oh goodness was this movie INTENSE! Probably not the most ideal Friday-night-date-night movie, but still this one is a must see! Overall,  I thought it was really good. There were a ton of stunning nature scenes that were just breathtaking! You felt like you were actually IN the forest feeling snowflakes fall on your head. The sound editing was also fantastic! Just like you felt a part of the forest, it also sounded like you were really there. When it was snowing you could hear each snowflake hit the ground. Or water running in a river, it was clear, loud, and vivid like you were standing at that river. The visuals and sound editing were truly incredible!

The Revenant is intense, and at times there is a lot violence. It can get pretty gruesome; but remember this movie takes place in the 1820’s and is about a frontiersman on a fur trading expedition who has to fight for survival…so we are dealing with lots of elements here.

It’s definitely not a “happy/cheerful” movie, but visually,  it was wonderful! Not to mention it has Leonardo DiCaprio and  Tom Hardy, both quite handsome! I really thought Leonardo DiCaprio was stupendous in this movie and if he doesn’t win an Oscar for this role, I don’t know what he has to do to win one!

The Revenant did pretty well last night at the Golden Globes, so here’s hoping it does well at the Oscars!

Best Motion Picture – Drama
“The Revenant”

Best Director – Motion Pciture
Alejandro G. Iñárritu (“The Revenant”)

Best actor in a Motion Picture – Drama
Leonardo DiCaprio (“The Revenant”)

Leo, this is YOUR year!!!

On Sunday we went to an early morning showing of Star Wars: The Force AwakensMV5BOTAzODEzNDAzMl5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwMDU1MTgzNzE@._V1_SY317_CR0,0,214,317_AL_

Another fantastic movie! I was a little hesitant about seeing this one because I’m not really the biggest Star Wars fan (I know!), but this movie had me on the edge of my seat! I loved it! My hubby really loves Star Wars, so he was pretty excited to see it! He looked like a little kid on Christmas morning with his face all lit up. So cute!

I have seen a few of the movies (thanks to him), but not all of them. Our original plan was to watch Episode 1-6 and then go see the newest movie, but the hubby just got too anxious to wait. I’m glad we went, because now I am kinda hooked and want to watch the whole story.  Also, I’m happy to report that we have now watched Episode 1-3 and will continue with the rest. I’m very intrigued by the story and can’t wait to see how everything unfolds. We also want to see The Force Awakens again already hehe!

And who could resit this guy?!?!? BB8-Fathead.png

I loved BB-8 for some reason…man I’m such a sucker for these types of characters haha. I also couldn’t wait to see if R2D2 and C-3PO made an appearance!

This weekend also including going to a couples baby shower, having dinner with my parents and doing the usual errands/market/laundry etc. this weekend. What did you all do? Anyone else go to the movies?

Hope you all have a great week! I’m looking forward to Paint Nite later this week with my coworkers and of course watching The Bachelor tonight! Thanks for reading!

XoXo

 

 

Leave a Reply

